Thoughts on Support Raising

【Eph 3:20-21 】Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

The past four months has been like “crazy” among my 2 years in the states (not including summer, 2015, I was at the other end of Pacific ) , went to TCX 15 in December, 2015, got accepted to Cru HQ Preview Weekend in mid-January; went all the way from Pittsburgh to Orlando in mid-February; applied Cru Summer Mission as soon as I came back to campus; accepted to HQ Summer Internship in early-March, meanwhile started raising support for my summer project.

With this being the first time raising support for a summer mission project, and being away from home. Just these two factors are enough to raise my fear to highest level. But in the deep end of my heart, I truly trust the Lord, the loving Father will provide the necessary needs as I going through this process of support raising.

About 2 months later, my support was able to reach $1685, which is over the $1500 support raising goal due on May 1st. Looking back this past month, I was in tears, I don’t even know how I could continue the walk till today if it were not the faith and trust in God.

Pray.
There is no better way to communicate with Heavenly Father without prayers. “The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective” ( Jacob 5: 16b)  Just like telephone that connects people in distance, prayer is a powerful and effective way to communicate with God. When more and more friends became my prayer warriors, the effort is immeasurable, and Heavenly Father answers the prayers, sometimes through ways that I couldn’t even imagine.

Relax.
While looking at the daunting number of the total amount I will need to raise, and the limited time I have, it’s easy to be stressed and overwhelmed. But when step back and trust the Lord to provide the necessary needs, I’m more relaxed and enjoyed more of this process.

Thank.
Support doesn’t come in easy, but a handwritten, personalized thank-you note can always make the donors happy, although it’s easy to draft a letter to update on the amount that has been raised, a thank-you note is more important.

Raising support should not be a burden, it doesn’t have to wait for June to start the summer mission, the mission is now. it has been an amazing 2 months not only seeing the support amount grow, also the opportunity to share with my friends, and re-connect with some old friends whom I haven’t seen for years. “So far so good” I shall say, and I have been so humbled by these brothers and sisters who have been so generous investing for my summer.

 

Leave a Reply

