It’s Not Just Another Year

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your path straight.——Proverbs 3: 5-6

What a year!

I have never expected it to be this adventurous & amazing!

At this point of my life, still registered as full time student, not having a date, not having a job, many people would question me “why?” “why not just go back home and find a job?”, there are also other sets of questions ” what are you going to do later, staying in America or go to China?” ” Do you miss home?”

I don’t know. 2 years ago, on Jan. 8, 2014, when I stepped on this foreign land, I was only planning on being here for one semester and go back to China and finish the degree and “hopefully” find a job. But that is just “my plan”, God has painted a bigger image that is beyond what I could imagine. Here, I would like to use the quote from Darryl Smith during Big Break 2016 “I don’t know what tomorrow holds, but I know who holds tomorrow.”

This past school year has been one of the toughest but also one of the greatest of all 2.5 years living on a foreign land, and here is why.

I just happened to read across this line on another blog “Death sucks and being far, far away from the people in mourning double sucks.”, for me, this is what strikes me in the fall of 2015. When my grandma & grandpa passed away in September & December, for the lack of time and money to afford the round-trip flight, I didn’t make it to their funeral. Although most family members understand my situation and forgave me not being there. But I would never forgive myself on losing someone so important, I cried many times when seeing friends’ posts of them and their grandparents, with the fact realizing that I can’t see them anymore.

“Earth has no sorrow heaven can’t heal” as the lyric reads. Losing two beloved family members while me being far way from home already stinks, there was a moment when I didn’t have the strength to move on and still have loads of work to accomplish, I was crashed, I lay myself to the arm of Heavenly Father, I knew that He will never leave me alone, and He knew what I was going through.

While looking back, I can’t resist tears in my eyes. So many changes have happened in this past year, and so many more experienced were added to my limited time on this foreign land. Some of my friends got married and I was able to attend their wedding; some were engaged, and I was able to just be there to witness that very moment; some of my friends got married and moved to a different country, although I wasn’t able to attend the wedding, but they are always in my prayers.

This is not over yet. It has been such a blessing to meet Spencer & Lynsey at Cru winter conference, who introduced Cru to me and its opportunities at the world headquarters, the detailed story can be found here.
993846_752146024918000_3157615474201337152_n

Besides, much more appreciation to Dr. Glysson who brought up the College Community Choir, I was able to be a member of, and it was the first time I was able to accomplish my dream from when I was in the 3rd grade of middle school. I loved listening to the Messiah chorus and always wished someday I could be in the choir to sing this chorus on the stage, and that was my best memories of the fall semester of 2015.
12249628_736997366432866_5323447353269072239_n

Praise the Lord for giving me another incredible year and memories to be take home with!

Foot note: 32 days till I will be back in Lake Hart for my summer mission project at Cru’s world headquarters. Your prayers and finances are greatly appreciated. If you feel that God is leading you to take this step further, the easiest way to give is through my Cru secured online giving site .

Leave a Reply

